The Thunderbird: Vancouver businesses scramble to meet composting deadline

DSC_0495

I began my Masters of Journalism at the University of British Columbia in September and as part of the program, all student work is published to the online news magazine The Thunderbird. 

My beat for the publication is sustainability and for my first piece I explored the adjustment process local Vancouver businesses – specifically restaurants – are going through in order to convert their waste management operations to compost collection. Diverting organic material from the waste stream was mandated by Metro Vancouver last Spring and began officially on Jan 1, 2015. All organic waste produced by commercial businesses is now supposed to be sorted into designated bins and end up on the compost heap rather than in the landfill. Apartments and condos are soon to follow suit in an effort to reduce the amount of waste produced in Vancouver and achieve the city’s goal of becoming the worlds greenest city. Read my article for The Thunderbird to learn more.